All Portage schools participate in the YHBA program sponsored by the library media centers.  Each library is supplied with the current school year's nominees (two of each titles).  Students read the titles on their level,picture book, intermediate, and middle grades.  During April each year,students vote for their favorite book.  PTS submits our votes to the state committee.  The winner author for each level is announced at the state conference. 
Purpose....Sponsored by the Association of Indiana Media Educators, the Young Hoosier BookAward program is to stimulate recreational reading among elementary and middle school/junior high school children and to encourage cooperation between administrators, school media specialists, teachers, public libraries, and the community in providing reading experiences forIndiana school children.

History....Student participation in pleasure reading was the thrust of the Young HoosierBook Award (YHBA) program at its inception during the 1974-1975 school year. By allowing students to vote for their favorite books, media professionals hoped that more students could be motivated to read newly published books.  E. White's Trumpet of the Swan was chosen as the first winner by 4,681 students.  Each vote cast locally is counted at the state level.


Election.....The Young Hoosier Book Award Committee is composed of members of the Association for Indiana Media Educators (AIME) which is an association of the Indiana Library Federation.  Each year, the Committee's members select 20 nominees for each list, Picture Book, Intermediate and Middle Grades, from titles suggested by teachers, students, parents, public librarians, and media specialists.  Books must meet the following guidelines to be eligible for consideration:
  1. The author or illustrator of a nominated book will be restricted to one work in any particular year.
  2. The author or illustrator of a nominated book must be living and currently residing in the United States.
  3. The book must have been published within the last five (5) years.
  4. The book must be in print at the time of selection.
  5. The book cannot be a previous nominee.

The book cannot be a Caldecott or Newbery Medal winner. Honor books are acceptable.

Current YHBA Nominees...
Grades K - 3
Grades 4 - 6
Grades 6 - 8